Frum Outdoorsman: Rare but Possible

The wanderings and adventures of an orthodox Jew

20 mile road bike loop around Manhattan

Posted by Frum Hiker on June 20, 2008

There is a time in everyones life when they must acknowledge the beauty of New York City, I did this as I marveled at the crystal clear day reflecting off the skyline of the city which seemed to stretch to infinity as I tried to navigate the stop and go traffic on the George Washington Bridge. The sky was clear, the breeze was cool and dry and my bike on the roof of my car was begging to be ridden.

I had to be in Brooklyn for a free Madeski Martin and Wood show in Prospect park so I drove to the tip of Manhattan and tried to find a spot, not an easy feat- since everything is for official vehicles. I found one near China Town and donned my cycling gear and took off following the east river up to 23rd street where I switched to 1st ave. Then up to Central park for a loop around the park and then down the west side bike path. Beautiful and exhilarating riding as fast as traffic on singing tires pumped to 120 – psi, there is something great to be said about riding the rides of NYC- I have been doing it for 20 years and I love it.

18.78 miles total at an average of 16.5 mph.

6 Responses to “20 mile road bike loop around Manhattan”

  1. Nice speed, thats what I generally end up doing on the WSH path, about 16.5 -17 mph.

  2. Moshe Simon said

    Are you able to help us plan an action packed, structured and productive summer for our 15 year old son whose alone in the US this summer. We live in Jerusalem, Israel and our son is learning in yeshiva in Englewood NJ. He needs kosher , tefillah, hashkafah, hadrachah, mountains, bikes, adventure,hiking, ect..He needs structure from June 21 – Aug. 23, 2009.
    Thank you very much for your time,
    Moshe Simon
    Sheshet HaYamim
    Ramat Eshkol, Jerusalem Israel
    02-5818931; 0525532261

  3. 4×4 articles…

    […]20 mile road bike loop around Manhattan « Frum Outdoorsman: Rare but Possible[…]…

  4. Hi! Do you know if they make any plugins
    to assist with SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good gains.

    If you know of any please share. Many thanks!

  5. On That Point are listings of new scripts of appointment?
    But Punjabi Gages composition has the upper mitt because near
    and I front forward-moving to constituting in that location to provide my reinforcement.
    Jordan did a sincerely fantastic job helping us mesothelioma, a type
    of malignant neoplastic disease of the lung pleural membranes.

  6. I am in fact pleased to glance at this web site posts which carries lots
    of useful information, thanks for providing these statistics.

Leave a Reply

 
