Frum Outdoorsman: Rare but Possible

The wanderings and adventures of an orthodox Jew

Community Suppoted Agriculture by synagogues

Posted by Frum Hiker on June 6, 2008

I am a big fan of CSA’s, which stand for community supported agriculture- they were invented in Great Barrington Massachusetts- which was close to Albany so I have an affinity for them as well. They are basically community farms, small plots of land with shares and each share gets a certain amount of veggies, and each share agrees to work the land for a certain number of hours. I think its a great way for people to see where their food actually comes from- since most people are so far removed from the actual farming process- it also saves money, encourages healthy eating practices and is usually an environmentally friendly farming process by utilizing crop rotation, organic planting and small scale planting.

I was just found this blog Kosher Whine and they have this great article about their shul trying to get people in on a local CSA, which is a great idea in general. I would love to see more Jews becoming environmentally aware and interested in these types of community projects.

2 Responses to “Community Suppoted Agriculture by synagogues”

  1. Robin said

    Well said. I would like to see this become more the norm.
    ,a href=”http://www.mizrahimanor.com”>MizrahiManor

  2. kittysmith said

    My husband & I just joined a Tuv Ha’aretz CSA through the JCC here in Houston. We talked and talked and talked about it and finally signed up for the winter share. I’m so excited and can’t wait to pick up that first box of produce in October! It’s a sure bet that we can’t live – even for a week – on what I manage to grow each season…but, still I try! I do get some great Meyer Lemons each year. CSA’s are a great thing, Tikkun Olam in practice.

Leave a Reply

 
