Frum Outdoorsman: Rare but Possible

The wanderings and adventures of an orthodox Jew

The first muddy ride of the season

Posted by Frum Hiker on May 28, 2008

Yesterday was 88 degrees and the worst humidity of the season- it was also the first day of torrential summertime thunderstorms. I wanted to ride during them- but was stuck in a meeting with my boss- then at 6:30 I was free and off to Ringwood State Park for a ride through the jungles of wet trees and steamy fog.

It was surprisingly dry, I mean it was muddy, but not that thick soupy stuff that slows you down, it was puddles of cool wetness flying onto my legs and face and it felt good. I love riding in the mud and wetness, I also love the forest after a torrential rain. The trees glistened and dropped mini downpours on me in slight breezes.

I also rode very well and made it all the way up this hill without walking- proof that I am in way better shape then even a month ago. I did my regular loop and the rocks were slightly slippery making for great technical riding and I had a ball on the slick tree roots.

By the time I finished I was full of mud and happy as anything- for I was the only car in the parking lot and the sky was putting on a brilliant show just for me- with the last thick storm clouds and clear blue darkening sky in the distance.

2 Responses to “The first muddy ride of the season”

  1. jealous said

    JEEEEEEEEEALOUSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!

  2. Frum Hiker said

    You should be- I had the whole park to myself

Leave a Reply

 
