Frum Outdoorsman: Rare but Possible

The wanderings and adventures of an orthodox Jew

First day skiing: Mount Snow

Posted by Frum Hiker on December 5, 2007

I had off for most of today so I decided to head across to Vermont. I hopped in my car and drove est to Mount Snow, Right when I hit the state line it started snowing and I could see new virgin swaths of snow everywhere being shifted and blown around. I love winter I proclaimed over the Moe that was blaring from my car stereo. The pine trees were filled with lumps of powder that dropped to the ground every time a gust of wind came around.

The road was covered with snow by the time I drove a bit east of Bennington and the mountains in the distance had the look of ice at the tops where the wind plasters the snow to the trees. I settled in behind the progression of cars that were likely other folks off of work or who called in sick to take advantage of the 12 inches of snow that fell on Monday throughout most of Vermont, with the highest totals going to Jay Peak in the north as always.

I have not skid at Mount Snow since I was a kid and I must say I was very disappointed. It was not crowded, and the ticket price was about average for a weekday ticket $63. The thing that really pissed me off were the lifts. They are very slow, but the main quad is also missing the footrests that happen upon you when taking the bar down. By the end of the day my knees were cramping from all the dangling with no footrests. The lift on the back of the mountain was painful to sit on. After all it was 10 degrees with howling wind whipping snow between my face mask and goggles.

As for the terrain, it is wide and not very steep. Even the steep stuff, aint too steep. Mostly it was the lack of quick and efficient lifts that bothered me. I can only imagine how it is during the weekend, when its a mob of shouting NY metro area people. I guess I’ll stick to Stratton, and Jay as my Vermont faves.

Leave a Reply

 
