Frum Outdoorsman: Rare but Possible

The wanderings and adventures of an orthodox Jew

Riding Blue Mountain Reservation

Posted by Frum Hiker on August 16, 2007

I have been riding my road bike quite a bit lately, up to around 100 miles per week, so last week I decided to take out my mountain bike after having not ridden it for a week or so. I was on my way down to New York so I decided to stop at Blue Mountain Reservation in Peekskill, about 35 miles north of New York City. The trails are literally right off the highway. One would take the Welcher ave exit off of route 9 and go up the hill- Welcher ave goes straight into the park.

The park itself is full of hiking, biking and horse trails. It is fairly empty most of the time and the trails are vast. I have successfully gotten lost every single time I have come here. I usually take the trail at the end of the parking lot and follow that up the hill. All the trails are basically up and down and there are some long and steep uphills, it is not for the faint of heart.

I especially love the downhill singletrack with all the rock ledges and jump options. There are tons of steep rock faces and stuff to jump off of, with trails around the obstacles. The scenery is not bad either, with a few open fields, views of the Palisade Cliffs and small ponds and wetlands.

On the weekends it is very crowded here due to its close proximity to the city, but during the weekdays you will be most likely the only one here.

Leave a Reply

 
