Frum Outdoorsman: Rare but Possible

The wanderings and adventures of an orthodox Jew

So I am planning a trip to New Foundland….

Posted by Frum Hiker on July 26, 2007

I would love someone to tag along with me as the ferry ride over from Nova Scotia is a bit pricey, but I know that probably wont happen. I have been wanting to go there for a couple years and it just keeps getting pushed off. I think part of me feel that if its not all the way to west coast its close. New Foundland aint close, it appears close until I read the history of the first telegraph cable under the Atlantic was done from the tip of NF to the tip of Ireland and it is only 1600 miles. Very far east and pretty far north lies this island of rock and fjords.

If I had someone else to go with I would totally do the loop around to Labrador- probably one of the most rural road accessible places on the Continent, after all their first road came through in 1985 and the province is very large I think 150,000 square miles- 3 times the size of NY state. Of course the ferry ride from NF to Happy Valley Goose Bay in Labrador is 36 hours- that is real long, and the road back through Labrador and down through Quebec is mostly unpaved. But the prospects of adventure and another glimpes at the Aurora would be awesome.

Also while I am on topic I would love to find some Jews to stay by while I am in New Foundland, if anyone knows of any you can email me and I would love you for it. Orthodox Jews would even be better. I am planning on going in September, after the rush of tourism and after the bugs leave, but slightly before the frigid air sets in.

2 Responses to “So I am planning a trip to New Foundland….”

  1. dude. No. Fair.

    I want to go to Newfoundland (it’s about as far away from NYC as Georgia is, if i remember correctly). But since i’m saying Kaddish i need to stay in the proximity of places with minyans.

    I tried setting up a newfoundland roadtrip this past winter, but it didn’t work out. make sure when you’re there you check out the Viking site(s)!

  2. Frum Hiker said

    Dude Vikings rule, You are correct about your Georgia observation, though it seems close because its on the Atlantic. It is very far east and north.

Leave a Reply

 
