Frum Outdoorsman: Rare but Possible

The wanderings and adventures of an orthodox Jew

Kayaking in the stormy Sacandaga Lake

Posted by Frum Hiker on June 1, 2007

I feel as if I am on a Cunard Steamer sailing through a furious north Atlantic storm in the mid 1800’s, each time the bow crests a wave the crew prepares for the inundation of water that happens when the front of the ship crests the wave and crashes into the next one momentarily disappearing beneath the murky depths, only to reappear carrying tons of water with it for its destination somewhere within the ships holds.

I am paddling ferociously against the wind and waves of the Great Sacandaga Lake just inside the border of Adirondack Park. With each hard drawn paddle stroke I each along, and with each large wave I let out a hearty whoop as I crash into the next one and watch the front of my boat go under the water for a few seconds. Then all of the sudden my boat is released from the lakes fury and I am doused with water, the water is lovely and I look forward to each of these larger waves. I don’t have to wait long because the lake is filled with them; some even have white caps crashing all around me as I paddle alone in the middle of this large body of water.
dscn3139.gif

This is the exact opposite of my paddling adventure earlier this week. Instead of the peaceful tranquility of slow paddling and placid waters I am faced with the insane task of actually propelling myself forward amidst this madness. This is not for the faint of heart, my sweat is mixing with the water that keeps splashing all about- some of which ends up sloshing around in my canoe and threatening my camera and wallet that are supposedly safe within the confines of my yellow dry bag.

A quick look around reveals that I am in the center of the lake and there is no one around. No noisy obnoxious jet skis and wave runners and no pontoon boats full of lazy beer drinkers, nothing, just me the water and the sky- and in the distance on all sides lush green hills that are hard to see because of the hot haze that has settled over much of the area today.

I can see the personless boats in the distance bobbing up in down in the waves, situated next to the numerous private docks that dot the shoreline. I can thank God that its Friday, I know that if it were Sunday it would be an entirely different story. I can just see the trails of wasted fuel in the water, spewing forth from the trolling motors and large engines that are choking the lake. I can see folks sitting on their bass boats, rods held up without hands and folks drinking beer, guts hanging out in the sun and music blaring. I can see smoke signals in the distance rising out of backyard and deck side barbeques, children running around in swimsuits and everyone just having a great time. A lazy time, no activity would actually be going on save for a few canoes or kayaks, laughed at by all those folks in their fast boats flying by rocking those small nerdy boats with their giant wakes.

Saturdays and Sundays any lake any where. The noise of the jet skis and the country or southern rock type music blaring. Motor homes choking up the parking lots and boat launches jam packed with huge pickup trucks and tattooed up men unloading their fishing boats. I would surely not be enjoying the natural silence of the waves crashing into my boat and the gurgling of my paddles that are making twisters in the deep dark water. No noise besides my singing, hollering and paddling can be heard.

3 Responses to “Kayaking in the stormy Sacandaga Lake”

  1. mstoni man said

    well. done. that’s really fantastic! good job buddy…waiting for more..you just put what the people searching for..good luck!

    http://mstoni-jeux.ifrance.com/

  2. Yael said

    I just need you to know that I’m really jealous. really really jealous.

  3. Homeopathic HCG Diet…

    […]Kayaking in the stormy Sacandaga Lake « Frum Outdoorsman: Rare but Possible[…]…

Leave a Reply

 
